Stavanger sunset

Stavanger (/stəˈvæŋər/also UK/stæˈ-/US usually /stɑːˈvɑːŋər, stəˈ-/,[3][4][5] Norwegian: [stɑˈvɑŋər] (About this soundlisten)) is a city and municipality in Norway. It is the fourth largest city[6] and third largest metropolitan area[7] in Norway (through conurbation with neighbouring Sandnes) and the administrative centre of Rogaland county. The municipality is the fourth most populous in Norway. Located on the Stavanger Peninsula in Southwest Norway, Stavanger counts its official founding year as 1125, the year the Stavanger Cathedral was completed. Stavanger’s core is to a large degree 18th- and 19th-century wooden houses[8] that are protected and considered part of the city’s cultural heritage. This has caused the town centre and inner city to retain a small-town character with an unusually high ratio of detached houses,[9] and has contributed significantly to spreading the city’s population growth to outlying parts of Greater Stavanger.